Skip to content

Main Players In Lebanon’s Parliamentary Election

Former Prime Minister Saad Hariri’s decision to boycott the election - and the effective withdrawal of his Future Movement – has left the Sunni vote to fragment between allies of Hezbollah and smaller parties.

Flag of Lebanon
Flag of Lebanon
Breakdown of the main parties in Lebanon's Parlimentary elections, 2022

The Future Movement held 20 seats in the outgoing parliament, but with most of those now up for grabs, and Hezbollah and its allies already holding around 71 seats in the 128-seat parliament, the conservative Shia group could breach the two-thirds majority threshold required to bypass any blocking veto.